Adams County residents and property owners–Any resident, student, or person paying property taxes in Adams County may obtain a library card at no charge. Non-residents may purchase a card for $30.00 a year. Library Card replacement - $1.00. To qualify for a card you must complete the application in full and submit in person with photo ID and proof of current address (examples: mail received or check blanks). View/print a library card application [PDF]. En español
Nebraska residents–Nebraska residents living outside of Adams County may still be eligible for a free library card through the NebrasKard program. To qualify you must have a current card through a participating NebrasKard library. See the list of participating libraries. For more information about the NebrasKard program see the Nebraska Library Commission's page or call the library at (402) 461-2346. If you qualify you must complete a card application, and present photo ID and a library card from a participating NebrasKard library. View/print a library card application [PDF]. En español
The library offers email notifications. Email notifications are great for knowing when your requests are ready for pick up or when your items are about to become overdue. Email us, call us at 402-461-2346 or stop by and let us know you’d prefer to be contacted via email. We never share your email addresses and we only contact you regarding your account.
View/print the Circulation Policy [PDF].
3 Weeks – most books, CDs, books on tape/CD, and puppets
1 Week – new fiction, videocassettes/DVDs, magazines, seasonal books
Items may be renewed for 2 additional check-out periods, provided there are no requests for the material. Items may be renewed in person, by phone, or online, for the same time period as originally checked out. For example: 3-week items for 3 weeks, 1-week items for 1 week. No renewals on magazines or seasonal books. Access your account and renew items online.
10 videocassettes or DVDs, 5 magazines, 2 puppets, 10 music CDs; there is no limit on the total number of items.
$0.10 per day per item will be charged for most materials kept past the due date; maximum fine for an item not to exceed $5. $1 per day per item will be charged for items borrowed from other libraries; maximum fine $10.
Lost or damaged items
Items lost or damaged while checked out will be charged at the full cost of an item.
Suspension of privileges
Any person with fines or charges of $10 or more will have borrowing suspended.
The Library has 13 computers available for public use with both black & white and color laser printers installed for printing. Software installed on the computers for use include Internet Explorer, Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Access. Some of the computers also have Magic School Bus software installed. Adams County residents must have their library card and PIN to use the computers. Out of county residents must present photo ID to use the computers and will be issued a guest user number for each day. View/print the Internet and Safety Use Policy and printing costs [PDF].
Wireless Internet access is available throughout the public areas of the library. Any person with a wireless card in their laptop or other wireless device may use the Internet free of charge by connecting through the "hpl_wireless" network.